African Writers Award 2020

April 1, 2020 0 By The Writers Pen

About The African Writers Awards

Every year, since 2018, the African Writers Development Trust hosts the African Writers Awards as the highpoint of the African Writers Conference. The categories for the awards were Short stories, Poetry, Flash Fiction, and Children’s literature. Previous winners are:


Children’s Literature – Roise by Manu Herbstein (Ghana)

Flash Fiction – Fragments by Maryhilda Ibe (Nigeria)

Poetry – A Battle Cry to be Read Loudly and Softly by Chiamaka Onu-Okpara (Nigeria)

Short Stories – Dawn by Benson Mugo (Kenya)


Children’s Literature – The Zappinator by Eme Ogbu (Nigeria)

Flash Fiction – Breaking the Norm; Ungrateful Girl by Temani Nkalolang (Botswana)

Poetry – Pongwe’s Life by Andrea B Matambo (Zambia)

Short Stories – Hiding by Priscillar Matara (Botswana)

For 2020, we are pleased to announce a call for submission for the 2020 African Writers Awards under the theme ‘The African Identity’.

Additionally, we are pleased to announce a cash prize of $100 to each winner of the award. Please note that for 2020, we accept submissions to the following categories:

  • Poetry (Either Black verse, Pantoum, Haiku or Senryu)
  • Creative Non-fiction – 1,500 words maximum
  • Drama – 6 Acts Maximum

Please note that you are allowed to submit to one category only and the author retains the copyright. Please send us entries that have not previously been published anywhere.

Submission is open from April 1 until June 15, 2020.